Home Technical Talk

[Xnormal] Ray projection settings/issue?

Hello world!

I'm fairly new to Xnormal but have been impressed with it so far; however, there is one issue that I keep running into. When baking onto a low poly object, the bake will catch anything sticking above the  low-poly mesh (in the normal direction) but completely ignores anything under the mesh. Thus, if I wanted an indent in my normals, I would have to ensure the entire hi-poly mesh is outside of the low poly so that the deepest indent still sits above the normal direction. Is this just a shortcoming of xnormal, or is there a setting I'm missing?

Since my current project is a bit complex for a screenshot, here's a quickly drawn diagram.
The low poly mesh (blue) represents a single-poly plane. The hi poly mesh (red) arches above the low on the left and under the low on the right.
What I gather is that the Xnormal bake rays only project from the low poly in the normal direction, catching only those parts that are in that direction.

How would I enable it to catch both the right indent and the left "outdent" on the same face?

Replies

• ZacD
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    Use a cage that contains the entire high poly, including "outdents"
  • Doldfield731
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thank you ZacD!

That leads me to two more questions.
    The first one being: Is it very important for the cage to match the shape/polycount of the low poly mesh, or can I just envelope the whole thing in one large subdivided cube/sphere to catch as much detail as I can?