Home Technical Talk

Basic Help diagnosing the UV Editor Box (Maya)

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
muddymink polycounter lvl 2
Hello! I am a self taught 3D artist, so I've never had a good explanation on the simple subject of UV layout editor. 

I understand the UV's are laid out in the top right section of the UV editor, but what about the rest of the space we are provided? (Circled in Blue). 
As far as my understanding goes, this is used for adding different materials? Or is that wrong? It may not even serve a purpose at all!

If anyone would be willing to explain some of the main uses for these 3 extra spaces in the UV editor, I would really appreciate it! Thank you! :smiley:

(I've tried googling this, but I was unable to find anything of use!)

Replies

• throttlekitty
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    The area in the upper right is known as the 0-1 space: the grid starts at 0,0, and ends at 1,1 in the upper right.

The rest is extra space. If you do View>Grid [options], you'll find that you can expand it as much as you want. It's helpful for a lot of workflows to visualize the grid, such as tiled textures on very large objects, working with UDIM tiles, offset shells for baking, etc. Another common use (for me at least) is when I have a lot of textures on an object leaving me with a big overlapping mess. I'll usually move sets of UV shells a whole grid unit to the right or whatever so I have a clean space to work in for each texture.

At 10x10, it looks like this, it adds both vertical and horizontal rows even if I'm only using the upper right quadrant.

• Axi5
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Axi5 interpolator
    As throttlekitty says it's just extra space and for game models you will only really care about the upper right part. In VFX they use UDIMS which go off the 0-1 space but we don't typically use those.