Home Technical Talk

Please help with normal mapping

KoolKat
vertex
Offline / Send Message
KoolKat vertex

(Maya 2017)

After baking normal map on to low poly, there are dotted lines along the triangles, and also there is a problem where the triangles and cylinder-shapes join together. There are three areas along the cylinder where the groups of triangle are, which can be seen below.

On my high poly, the triangles and the cylinder-shape are separate meshes combined together as one. There is no back-faces or side-faces on the triangles where it connects to the cylinders, which can be seen in the images below.

The image below shows my baking settings in Maya 2017. Also, I soften the whole cylinder part of the low poly model.

I’m assuming that I doing something wrong with the high poly. I’m kind of new with normal mapping. This is I attempting to learn how to create normal maps with separate high poly meshes. Please help.

Replies

• Axi5
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Axi5 interpolator
    That's an aliasing problem. 

I'm not familiar with normal map baking in maya but I'd put money on you needing to increase your sampling quality way beyond 1x1. Maybe 4x4 or 8x8 will do.
  • KoolKat
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    KoolKat vertex

Axi5 thanks for helping me out!!!!  I changed the settings to high (8x8), and from distance the dotted lines appear to be gone. . .

but when I zoom in, I still slightly see them; they seem to be smaller. I wondering if that is normal. (?)  And, where the triangles connect to the cylinder-shape seems to be fine. (?)

However, the group of triangles further up the cylinder is still having the same problem where the triangles connect to the cylinder-shape.

Also, I came across another problem that I did not notice the first time when I had the settings at preview (1x1). At the end of the cylinder, the texture is messed up. Below are a few images at different angles as well as some wireframe images.