Home Technical Talk

Texturing workflow - newbie questions

Sareth93
null
Offline / Send Message
Sareth93 null
Hi,

I'm fairly new to 3d modeling and I'm currently working on the basics of modeling, shading, texturing, scultping and lighting.

I still have problems understanding the texturing process for my assets, especially for my portfolio in the future. 

There are quite a few sites that offer textures for download that can be used for free or for money. But I am not sure whether I can and should use these or create my own textures from scratch.

When creating for example a single prop, let's say a shack; should I just use a wood plank tileable texture that I download from the internet and tweak this, or should I aim at creating a completely hand-made texture? Should I use textures like photos from the internet, or do I have to make my own, or generate them procedurally? 

Let's say you create an environment with many props, do you hand paint all the textures or do you use downloaded ones and tweak them?

What is accetable in a portfolio?

And how will the process be e.g. in a game studio?

Thanks in advance!

Replies

• fatihG_
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    fatihG_ polycounter lvl 14
    Basically you want to find a way to create the textures as fast as possible to the desired quality.

Using textures from a texture site like CGtextures is fine, however be aware that using other peoples pre made textures could have issues in them like directional lighting and other things like that. 
    Using these kind of textures means you have to do allot of work multiple times, as you will need to generate all the maps yourself. 
    Like Albedo, roughness, normals and any other maps.
    That being said, using a standard photo of something probably will not work right in PBR.
    As the Albedo map should not have any lighting in it. 

Nowadays allot of texturing is done through the Quixel suite or Substance.