Home Technical Talk

Is there any point in learning Zmodeler if I know Maya?

null
Offline / Send Message
Zeriel00 null
Hello, I'm a beginner 3D artist and I know a bit about Zbrush and Maya. I enjoy using both and I'm trying to find my own pipeline to use them both to their full potential. After practicing box modeling for a couple of weeks I decided to pick up Zmodeler and so far I find it nightmarish. I can't get anything to behave exactly like I want it and something as simple as aligning vertices together becomes extremely hard or impossible.

So my question is, if I know box modeling in Maya do I need Zmodeler? are there things Zmodeler can do that Maya can't? Or should I focus on box modeling in Maya and then import to Zbrush?

To make matters worse, the GoZ doesn't work now in Maya 2017 because it requires Mental Ray for some reason...

Thanks for the help

Replies

• AtticusMars
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AtticusMars greentooth
    I think it's useful to know how to do simple things like extrusions, inserting loops and removing them, etc.

You can use it in conjunction with zspheres or zremesher to build fast basemeshes. For anything complicated I would use something other than ZBrush.
  • Zack Maxwell
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Zack Maxwell interpolator
    If you need to make something extremely simple for a highpoly, using ZModeler may be faster than jumping in and out of Maya.
    Largely though, I think ZModeler was made for people who use ZBrush exclusively, like concept artists or hobbyists.
  • Zeriel00
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Zeriel00 null
    Ok thanks for the replies, I decided to skip Zmodeler because I just don't feel in complete control of the topology when using it and I see Zbrush as a way to quickly concept things without worrying about topology. Zmodeler feels like it goes against what Zbrush is meant to do.
  • [Deleted User]
    Options
    Offline / Send Message