Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Philosopher's Academy Project

JamieBaudo
vertex
Offline / Send Message
JamieBaudo vertex

Hey Polycount, first time posting here. I am a student in my final year of Game Art and I want to specialize in environment art. The theme for my project is a Philosopher's Academy. I want to get a secluded Utopian vibe across. A sort of overgrown secret Greek garden in a mountainous forest. I can't find much useful reference so i'm currently frankensteining everything I want and trying to get a pleasing look.

If anyone could give me a pointer on what's working and not working it would be truly appreciated. Nothing is set in stone, also ignore the topology. I want to keep it an exterior scene with an outdoor library and a courtyard for study and debate. That's about all i have concrete at the moment.

The statue will depict Plato as he stands in The School of Athens painting.

Thanks!

Replies

• LorasTyrell
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    LorasTyrell polycounter lvl 5
    This is a really cool concept :) I think this is a question for more experienced artists than me, but I can comment on what I see!

First of I think you have a really good beginning. It's only a blockout so I won't nitpick on details, but some things I think you should research: The trees seem to be placed randomly now. Considering the ancient Greek were avid city planners, a lot of their parks were carefully planned. See if there maybe should be more of a pattern in the trees, and also make sure the trees are ones you would find in Athens.

Second, the academy seems to stand on the edge of a bigger mountain, which I can tell will look really cool. You should research how rocks fall in environments like these - for example the on on the top left looks like it shouldn't be there without some sort of support. Consider gravity and erosion when laying the rocks out, and if humans have intervened to stabilise things then make sure that's visible in the scene :)