Home Technical Talk

Modeling plants for games : Which technique/tools to use ?

Hey hey hey,

I am very new to modeling (I literally just started haha) so I am trying to learn the basics.
I would like to be able to create some simple small plants like those : http://prntscr.com/gcxbh2 to put them in my first scene.

After doing some researches, I realised that a lot of 3D models of plants I find on websites like Sketchfab are actually created by using a technique called "photogrammetry". Apparently all you have to do is take in real life pictures from the plant you want to have in your scene and some sort of software turns your pictures into a 3D model (At least, it's what I understood from it). From what I saw the results are absolutly amazing!

Now that I know that I am starting to wonder if games with realistic plants like Pikmin are using this technique instead of modeling their plants ? (Here is a pic of a plant from the latest Pikmin game so you guys can see what I mean : 
http://prntscr.com/gcxeki )

So my question is : Knowing that I am a beginner, would it be better for me to learn how to actually model plants or can I use the photogrammetry technique ? Isn't it better to learn how to model plants the "normal way" first ?

And by the way, is Autodesk Maya a good tool to model plants ? Because I find it pretty hard to make "organic shapes" with Maya, so I don't know if it is a good idea to use it for modeling plants/rocks/animals/... If no, which tool should I use ? Something like Z brush maybe ??

Thanks for reading all of that haha, I hope someone will be able to answer my noob questions !

Replies

• TheLazyScarecrow
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I really need some help with that, if someone could guide me a little bit I would be thankfull ><
  • Burpee
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Burpee polycounter lvl 9
    Normal way first,
    Yes Maya is a good tool to model plants, zBrush can be also good