Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Sword - Need some advice on detailing

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Tekoa polycounter lvl 4
Hello! It's good to be back on Polycount with something to actually share since I created my account back in 2013, when I was fifteen.

Long before then, I have been wanting to learn Blender/3d Modeling for a number of years, but unfortunately I never put fourth the effort, nor the time to do anything with it. This past week I've been committed to learning some more intermediate level skills in Blender while I have free time, and I'm at the point where I am starting to create my own models from scratch, or a reference image. Albeit not very good ones, but it's a start. I hope to share my progression from this point forward with you all on Polycount!

This model in particular is something that I've never tried before, and I am looking for advice on how to proceed from the point I am currently at. Take a look:
[spoiler]

[/spoiler]

Here's the reference image, which can be found with a google search:
[spoiler][/spoiler]

So I have absolutely no idea how to even start on the pommel, or the detail on the guard. I'm tempted just to block it out with simple geometry, but I don't believe that will turn out too well. Should I sculpt it? That is something I need to learn more about, and I'm curious if this is a good place to start with it.

Another little thing I'd like to ask. In the reference image, the fuller (the bevel in the middle of the blade) is at more of a point. I kind of like how it is on my model now, but I cannot for the life of me figure out how to bring it to a point, without causing problems towards the tip of the blade. I'd appreciate some advice.

Thanks!

Replies

• Kulture
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kulture null
    Are you sculpting or hard modeling? And what process of texture do you want? PBR or handpainted?
  • Tekoa
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Tekoa polycounter lvl 4