Home Technical Talk

Noob question about smoothing techniques

vertex
Offline / Send Message
Stellary vertex
Alright, my question may be a blasphemy to (some of) you, but forgive me - I'm total newbie and I feel like I'm missing something very important here... First of all, I googled, I searched forum a little, watched some vids and I still can't, how to say it,... it can't "click" in my head in right place. (maybe I'm just not made for 3d modeling...)

So, why smooth models using supporting loops and subdiv, which requires a very good topology (which is pain), when you can use scripts like Crease+, or Zbrush polish?

please, don't hate me

Replies

• frmdbl
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    frmdbl polycounter
    Not sure what you mean by smoothing using support loops.

There's subdivision surface that needs pretty good topology, there are also applications that need good topology e.g animating the model.

Smoothing in the typical sense is averaging the surface, it doesn't necessarily require specific topology.

• Obscura
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Obscura grand marshal polycounter
    Its like the difference between the grandma knitting the sweater or having a machine for it. It looses the spirit.

But seriously speaking, there is a good place and time for both approaches. If you are working with 3d (non concept), you need to know how to make decent topology anyways, so I don't think that having a good understanding of subdivision modeling hurts.
  • Stellary
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Stellary vertex
    sorry, English isn't my native language and I don't know the proper terms

what I'm mean is smoothing edges like that:

But I've seen vids where people just use Dynamesh and polish in Zbrush - like here:
    http://polycount.com/discussion/168610/proboolean-dynamesh-hardsurface-workflow-tutorial/p1
    (and I'm not talking about booleans part, just about smoothing)
    or ShapeShifer script like here: