Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Finding an entry level position in Environment Art / Help with portfolio

Flaminbeef
null
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Flaminbeef null
Hi everyone. I am an aspiring environment artist whose had a little bit of a struggle finding a junior/entry level position or internship to get that much needed experience. I just recently graduated from university with a 2:1 in Games Art and I have been working on portfolio everyday since I finished. After applying to various positions the main response I have been given is that I am not quite there yet in terms of skill. This is something I am working on everyday as I realise that I need to get better in order to get that first job and it is best to be constantly working on your skills. I was wondering if anyone could give me their thoughts on my portfolio in its current state? Also if anyone knows what potential employers for this position want to see most in a portfolio I would love to know! 

Link to portfolio: https://alexpaddock7.wixsite.com/mysite

I am currently working on a Victorian Study environment in UE4 which will be the next thing I add to portfolio. 

Thank you in advance for taking the time to read this! :) 

Replies

• samnwck
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    samnwck polycounter lvl 9
    I'd say first off. Ditch the wix site and move over to artstation (not that your layout or anything is bad, but I'd say I prefer art on there more than visiting a wix site). Second, remove the character and the gun at the end. Neither are strong enough to be included in your portfolio (remember portfolio is only as good as the worst piece). Next, the chair and the desk look like fine pieces, but not necessarily strong enough to be on two different entries and I'd prefer to them as part of a bigger environment (Which I imagine would be your victorian study).

Also, you seem to have a lot of bloom in some of your photos which I think is unnecessary, for reference: