Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Improvement Thread] Like the mule with a spinning wheel‏ - a Noobs Journey

Count_Crushmore
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
Count_Crushmore polycounter lvl 2
Hello Everybody!

To explain the title (that hopefully has drawn your attention) - I thought the quote of Lyle Lanley sums up my current situation pretty well -

You know, a Programmer with a 3D Suite is a little like the mule with a spinning wheel. No one knows how he got it, and danged if he knows how to use it!

Well, at least I know how I´ve got 3D´s Max, Mudbox and Motion Builder and I am just now starting to learn how to use them.

I am a Programmer in a small gamestudio and I´ve had my first contact with 3D Design while I was a student some years ago (it was Maya, taught by a great instructor). I was facinated and got the Autodesk Entertainment Suite 2012. But I never came along to use it. Sure, I did some halfhearted atempts at Tutorials but I didn´t get that far and one day I more or less forgot about it.

Now and then I used 3DS Max at work but I haven´t done anything more exciting then adjusting Pivot Points to get the Rotation of Objects in Unity right or delete faulty frames in Animations that came out of Motion Capturing (OK, that part was a nice experience).

Some Months ago I decided to give it another try, I subscribed at Digital Tutors, did some Tutorials and I think I´ve got a feel of the Basic Foundations of Max, but I still have a whole lot to learn.

Unfortunatly I don´t have much Time to spare, but I plan to dedicate as much of that Time to 3Ds Max as possible (I think I will leave Mudbox and Motion Builder out of the equation for now). I created this thread for three reasons:

1) I hope to get feedback from experienced Artists to improve my workflow and the quality that I am able to produce
2) To keep myself focused on the tasks at hand
3) To bring some structure my learning process

What do I want to achieve?