Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Hard surface is hard

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Abaky polycounter lvl 4
Hi,

this is my first post ever :)

I am new to 3d modeling and am currently just testing what Blender can do, or what can I do with it. My focus is on hard surface stuff. What I am looking for here is critique, what am I doing wrong, how to fix it, basically I want to improve my modeling and down the line, texturing skills.

So this is going to be (hopefully) a documented progress of weapon building for in-game use.

Starting of is a high poly muzzle break I build today.

The inspiration was this image

raptor.jpg

I am almost sure the holes at the top go thru the top all the way down but I cant model the cylinder intersecting another cylinder without nasty shading issues. :poly127:

So pleas give some advice how to improve topology, where did I do weird solutions. Especially with regards to cutting cylinder and maintaining smooth result.

Replies

• Tectonic
    Offline / Send Message
    Tectonic polycounter lvl 10
    you should check out the Technical Talk pages too http://www.polycount.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=43
  • Abaky
    Offline / Send Message
    Abaky polycounter lvl 4
    thanks Tectonic, will definitely read up on as much info as I can :)

So I made some quick bakes in xNormal and here is the result so far, the poly count in probably a little high for just a muzzle break and some edges have really obvious normal map errors, also AO map has edge issues. Would really appreciate any constructive criticism.

[SKETCHFAB]7fb0ac63241146ed80dc1b732bcab706[/SKETCHFAB]
  • AxtelSturnclaw
    Offline / Send Message
    AxtelSturnclaw polycounter lvl 6
    I noticed some bake errors where the cylinder meets the hexagonal part of the piece. This post by EarthQuake should help you understand what is going on, and what to do to fix it.

I definitely like how you managed to get the circular appearance out of a square indent in the end area.