Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Am I doing this right? (female character)

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
gem2492 polycounter lvl 5
Hi, guys (and gals)! It's been a while (2015) since I last posted here and I was a noob back then. Well, nothing much has changed because I was bedridden for a year, and it's been only a few months since I recovered. So here I am, practicing again. I'm gonna try to make a semi-realistic version of Asuna from the anime Sword Art Online. Here's what I have so far:

The reason why I'm posting even though I'm still in the very early stages is because I'd rather know what's wrong now instead of realizing my mistakes later on and then waste a lot of time mitigating those.

The texture is just a mock-up for me to see how she's going to look like. So...am I doing it right? I mean, topology and all that stuff. Am I doing anything wrong?

Oh, and here's Asuna (she's 16 years old):

Replies

• gem2492
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
  • vavavoom
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    vavavoom polycounter lvl 11
    You certainly got skills :)    Only thing I can really add right now is the knees seem a little too bent inwards, OR move the feet IN a little more.

Looking good!
  • gem2492
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks, @vavavoom! I'll fix the knees then. I think the feet right now are actually still too close to each other for a default pose. Not sure though.
  • vavavoom
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Something like this.
    Also, rotate the feet to point inwards more. Your original lower leg/feet part of the pose looks kinda like the feet are unnaturally rotated outwards. 
  • vavavoom
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Head shape suggestion.

Before/After.
    Bring the jaw back somewhat and angle it downwards a touch perhaps.
  • pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter