Home Technical Talk

Looking For Rigging and Skinning help for a Beginner (please you're my only hope)

Hello, 

I have been searching high and low for any information on how to do this but to no avail so now I am asking for help. I am sorry if this is already a topic on here somewhere.  I am new to the rigging world, my job requires it of me so I learned as I could.  I am now at a point where I can't raise any characters hands over their head for example if they were to hang from a ledge, do jumping jacks, or just reach for the sky.  The mesh crinkles and no amount of skinning can fix it and I don't know how to properly implement a blend shape that won't mess up if I rotate the arm just slightly out of the pose the blendshape was made in.

I have opened free rigs to see if I can understand what is going on, and I can't, and some I can't even unearth the skeleton to see if I am missing something.

I am working in Maya, and like I said I have little experience beyond just making a skeleton and putting it into motionbuilder to build a control rig.  So even if you can point me to tutorials that I have missed I would greatly appreciate it as I am blocked from furthering my skills and experience without this knowledge.  Thank you!!!!!

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    We have some resources here.
    http://wiki.polycount.com/wiki/Rigging

I would suggest checking out Brian Tindall's site, and digging around in there.
  • vividlylost
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    We have some resources here.
    http://wiki.polycount.com/wiki/Rigging

I would suggest checking out Brian Tindall's site, and digging around in there.
    THANK YOU
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Shoulders are a tricky beast and they make a lot of trouble for almost everyone, so don't get discouraged or think you're alone.