Home Animation Showcase & Critiques

Starting my portfolio

OddRob
null
Offline / Send Message
OddRob null
Hello there.
So, I graduated on Game Art a little over a year ago, with a focus on Animation. Since then, I have not done anything at all in terms of 3D Animation, since the only projects I've been involved with are 2D games - not too bad a thing, since I learned to use Spine. Anyhow, I think it is time I start to gather a portfolio, so I'm posting 2 animations from my Bachelor's final portfolio, and I'd really appreciate some critique on it.
Here is the link for the animations, than you!

https://syncsketch.com/sketch/136097#156352

Replies

• AnthonyAnimation
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AnthonyAnimation greentooth

The good news is that animations skills are animation skills not matter what, so the transfer to 3d hopefully won't be to difficult!

I only have time to critique one animation currently so I'll pick the spell cast animation since it has some nice potential. You have a nice start. If you're comfortable with 2d animation you can view 3d animation in the same way because when you playblast it to a camera it becomes 2d.

I'd first recommend focusing on strong poses. Really get the whole body involved in the motion.

F1-11 The hips are quite static here. Give them life by having him rock forward then back in a big anticipation at f18. (I made some notes in Synchsketch for hips)

F1-30 Because the arms are a large center of attention focus on getting some nice arcs in there.

F20-33 Since this is the spell cast action give it a lot of energy. Make it snappy with a large burst forward and hit a really strong pose at the moment of the cast. Depending on the frame rate you're animating at try to have this motion occur in ~5 frames.

F33 This is a great opportunity to show of your 2d animation skills and make a strong pose. Focus on the silhouette, make it readable and dynamic since this is the climax of the scene.