Home Technical Talk

arrimus 3d tutorials

polygon
Offline / Send Message
yukonwanderer polygon
As a newb I'm finding these tutorials extremely helpful (only on #11 though). Seems like he really knows his shit. Just want to confirm that he actually does know his shit before I expose myself to too much of it.  He's great right?

Replies

• musashidan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    musashidan high dynamic range
    Yes, Arrimus is legit.
  • sziada
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sziada polycounter lvl 11
    to be honest, he is pretty good to learn from and his tutorials are great place to learn a lot of the fundamentals and plus its free education :)
  • Thane-
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thane- polycounter lvl 3
    I learned a ton from him, yet as someone newish to modelling, i don't have much to compare it to either. He uses some of the graphite modelling tools, but not all, but they only came out a few years ago. I went through most of the models he did along with him, eventually i started sections of the model first, then reviewing what Arrimus did which i found helpful because he would then either show me a different way or show me how i screwed up which was a great way to learn because it involved a "crap, so thats how its done" emotional component, which i don't get from just watching the videos as I find the information just goes right in and right out...  He does use the same overall techniques frequently for the most part, a good thing in my opinion because it help reinforce the information. One thing he recently started doing was using smoothing groups to form edges with turbosmooth, giving a edge that is too sharp IMO, however you can do these sections differently that he if you wish, i did. Mightybake is offering a way to soften sharp edges now,  and afaik there may be many other ways now.