Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Student Looking For Portfolio Advice

Hi guys,

I'm a third year student currently studying Games Design, and I'm also working on 3D environments to put into my portfolio. The main questions I wanted to ask were.. What is the ideal amount of images I should have in my portfolio? and secondly, should the environments I create be a mixture of realistic / stylized?

Hope someone can help me out!

Replies

• Mattvaughn12
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mattvaughn12 polycounter lvl 9
    The best way to go about designing your website is, find artists who are working in the field doing whatever it is you want to do (characters, environments, animations, etc) and use that to gauge where abouts you should be at. If you want to work on Stylized environments, the majority of your work should be stylized, with maybe a little realistic work to show you can do it if needed. But again, you can sense that from looking at others website portfolios.
  • Beard3D Bandit
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Beard3D Bandit polycounter lvl 7
    Hi Jordon, I'm currently self-teaching myself, so I'm not a professional or anything. Perhaps it's a process of elimination when it comes to discovering yourself as a 3D Artist, I think. It was with me anyway. My method was to:

1. get myself on Artstation - This to me gave me an opportunity to see what artists in the industry are happy to show to the public, comment on their work and perhaps ask for advice. It sounds like the ''usual'' thing, but Artstation was really big for me and has helped me a lot. I've contacted and emailed artists SO MUCH like Warren Marshall (who is AWESOME) and some folk from Epic. Also if you're really unsure about how you're going to make your own website, artstation is a great platform to show your own work. 

Artstation also posts jobs, tutorials and other stuff. It's helped guide me a bit more looking at some of the Junior environment art posts posted on there.