Home Technical Talk

converting cat rig system from 3ds max to hik in maya

vladidan
null
Offline / Send Message
vladidan null

Hello everybody

Since it's my first time to post in this forum, i wasn't sure where to post it. So if it's wrong please correct me.

I am facing some kind of problem converting an already CAT rigged system that is already rigged from 3ds max to HIK in maya, both apps are 2016.

First of all, is about anatomy model, so lots of objects around 3-4 thousands.

Second, the main goal is to take the whole model with the rig and put it inside maya. The model has already rig and animation on it.

It could be possible and how difficult it could be?

I have tried both methods:

Send the whole file scene from 3ds max to maya with the command(send to)
export the whole file scene with fbx format from 3ds max to maya

Here are the problems:

Inside maya

1. A few of skin deformers are not correctly althoug most of them are. In 3ds max everything are ok, all the skins are behave correctly. I have to say that not all the objects of my model has skin modifiers, some of them has skin wrap modifier. Is that a problem? I am mention it because some objects that has the problem with the skin in maya, has skin wrap deformer in 3ds max, again not all. And lastly, in 3ds max file for some objects in the modifier stack i have "edit poly" above "skin" modifier, is that a problem too?

2. Some technics that was used in 3ds max for rigged purpose hasn't pass in maya, like ffd modifiers. Is there any way to convert them in the way that maya can understand them?

3. The names of the objects are mess up, is there a way to keep the original name of objects that was in 3ds max? I have already tried all the three options has to offer the fbx format.