Home Technical Talk

Research and Development for University final project in UE4, workflows and optimization discussion

Micaka
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
Micaka polycounter lvl 2
Hello Polycount!
This is what i think my first post on this forum, have been using it as a great resource before for both technical issues and artistic views.

I am a student who is now reading my last year at university on a three year long arts degree in computer graphics.
Soon my personal big project which will be examed starts and i am preparing so much as possible at the moment and doing some research and development right now on what type of workflow i will use mainly in this project.

This is my main question here then, how can i work so efficient as possible and get out so much details as possible in UE4 but still run at 60+ fps at 1080p on a average gaming setup (such as an i5 and gtx 980)

I've been looking on two different workflows thus far and want to discuss some more about it regarding optimization in a finalized game.

First workflow is the classic. Create assets with high poly baked to low poly and then texture them using texture sheets per object and some atlas texture sheets for smaller props. Walls and floors can be procedural and modular with both mesh and textures.

Second workflow is similar to Star Citizen. Focus more on clamping down texture files, focusing more on procedural materials in a mix with decals. This will result in more materials per object but less texture sheets in a total as a texture sheet with decals can cover 10 different objects with details but each object might need 1-2 mixed materials.
Here baking can be skipped as i will probably used Face weighted normals, which requires some more tri-count because of chamfer / bevel.
* Key assets may get the first workflow applied as more work might be needed on details for such as statues and characters.