Home General Discussion

Graduate portfolio

Njord
null
Offline / Send Message
Njord null
Hi there,

I am a 3rd year student of animation at university and after this (final) year I will be applying for a job of hard surface 3D modeler for games (environments, props, assets) and/or advertisement industry (I want to focus on product visualization). For modeling I use Autodesk Maya and at the moment, I am starting to create my portfolio, so the question I want to ask, is:

What kind of models should I include in my portfolio to make the studios interested in my work? What is expected from a graduate's portfolio? Should I make textures as well or how does this really work?

Thank you for replies.

Matej 

Replies

• ZacD
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    1. You shouldn't have anything that looks like a university assignment or looks like something based on a tutorial. That also means you shouldn't have things like your first environment or prop. A lot of student portfolios look like they have a lot of class assignments and first attempts, work like that doesn't really have a place in a portfolio. 

2. Cut out all the junk and clutter. It's better to have 3 awesome projects, than 10 crappy projects with 3 awesome ones. 

3. Ideally everything should be cohesive, you don't want something super realistic, followed by something hand painted, and then something super stylized. Some variety is fine, but I'd sort it in a way the style isn't constantly jumping back and forth between projects. 

4. Have separate portfolios if you are looking in multiple different areas, like environment art for games and advertisement.

5. If you haven't broken into the industry yet, only show finished projects. Pros can get away with having zBrush sculpts and high poly models with no in game model because they have the industry work experience to back it up. 
  • Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Great advice from ZacD.