Home General Discussion

Working from Home

vertex
Offline / Send Message
fauxNormal vertex

Hey everyone,

Just landed a job in 3D Environment Art for Games. This happens to be my first salaried role in the Industry, so I'm quite excited at the prospect of working alongside others in a permanent capacity. At the moment, I'll be working remotely from home which is something I've never done before.

I start in November after I've worked my notice period at my current place of work, and I'd just like to ask a couple of questions to anyone that's been in a similar position either now or in the past:

1.) What kind of strategies did you put in place for working from home? - Usually home has been my little sanctum from work, so I'm imagining this will take some getting used to.

2.) How did you make the transition between being socially active around colleagues all day every day to being a little more isolated effectively working within a single room? - I don't have kids so I've not got that to deal with.

I've taken on plenty of short-term freelance projects at home in the past, but never anything longer than a couple of weeks.

Any comments/advice would be greatly appreciated!

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Have you seen this page? Some similar info here
    http://wiki.polycount.com/wiki/Freelance
  • lotet
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    lotet hero character
    First of I think you need to be a little bit asocial for it to work in the long run to be honest.
    Ive been working from home for almost 3 years now.

secondly I would say make sure you have a proper schedule. I break my day up like this, and I try my best not to move these around so much time wise.
    breakfast, start working, lunch, stop working, "go home/dinner/free time". try to have these at set times, and dont change it from day to day.