Home Technical Talk

Substance Painter, 3DS Max - UV seams with smart materials

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Recker polycounter lvl 6
Hello there, so as my title says, I'm am having some issues with the UV seams being highly visible within Substance Painter. I am only a beginner using the Substance programs and also with the texturing process and have a very small understanding of the baking process.

What I have found is that there is a visible seam line when I place a smart material onto a mesh that has been unwrapped within Substance.

Pictured above is how that looks with the uv layout as well.

Now to my understanding, a high poly model does not need to be unwrapped for the smoothing to work and it should possibly have a singular smoothing group? However I am not entirely sure on that last part. For the low poly, Am I correct in saying that the smoothing groups can be separate? or does the mesh have to have one smoothing group?

Now if I place a smart material onto the mesh it breaks up the sections by the UV areas. it also seems to ignore the corner smoothing from the normal map as pictured below

This is fine however I noticed that by changing the projection method from UV layout to Tri-Planar Projection, the smart material seems to do some areas correctly but there is still seams, as pictured below:

So my question is, how do I go about fixing this, or is there any specific things I can look for to aid in my fixing of this.

Thanks.

Replies

• ActionDawg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ActionDawg greentooth
    Hi! Baking can be pretty tricky to wrap your head around, but rest assured it's a logical process you can break down to get right every time. There's a healthy number of stickied threads to help you with many questions you may have now and down the line: 1 2 3 4
    There is also the wiki :)

To answer specifics.