Home Technical Talk

XNormal - Normal Map Comes Out Blank

Pictures of the issue: http://imgur.com/a/aCyN0

Tutorial I followed: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WBhbKnjwcr8

I'm new to xNormal, anyone know what I did wrong?

Replies

• Bek
    Offline / Send Message
    Bek interpolator
    fire up that 3d viewer in xNormal and look at why it missed. Could be any number of simple things. Meshes not loaded. Meshes scaled differently. Cage not pushed out. Cage not loaded. Not enough ray distance if no cage. The viewer lets you do all sorts of basic troubleshooting. If nothing there looks wrong, try exporting as a different file format, maybe UV's didn't get exported correctly or something.
  • Aaren_Gibson
    Exported as .obj, then re-imported to Cinema, and the UV's are still there

In the 3D viewer, both the high poly and the low poly show up fine, overlapped over each other: http://imgur.com/a/hik3i

I don't have a cage and I used the ray distance calculator under tools. After using the calculator, I pressed "Copy results", do I have to paste that somewhere or does it set it automatically?
  • Bek
    Offline / Send Message
    Bek interpolator
    It does it automatically. You can see the values updated under the low-poly item. Perhaps try fbx or some other file format. Otherwise try disabling 'discard backface hits' under baking options and see if anything shows up.
  • Aaren_Gibson
    'discard backface hits' didn't make a difference

However, it looks like exporting as .FBX did the trick, but it came out a little messed up: 
    http://imgur.com/a/H9DUi

• Aaren_Gibson
    Does it matter if a model is open or closed geometry?
  • Bek
    Offline / Send Message
    Bek interpolator
    No, but I think the problem is partial UV's — which OBJ does not support, which might explain why you get no results with OBJ but some broken parts with FBX.