Home Technical Talk

Zbrush/Max Workflow: export/import problems.

mikejkelley
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
mikejkelley polycounter lvl 18

Hi all. I'm a novice sculptor. I'm working on a feathery T. Rex in zbrush. I'm at the point where I want to create maps in xNormal, but first I want to tweak the UVs and create cage meshes in 3ds max.

I'm attempting to export from zbrush into max, and then from max back into zbrush (to make sure the low poly .objs are the same size and in the same position as their decimated counterparts), then out again for xNormal.

The problem is that when I export from max back into zbrush the scale and positioning of the low poly is all wrong. I can fix the scaling by making sure the Geometry>Size>XYZ Size is the same as the original, but I don't trust myself to get the positioning perfect. Could I paper over the offset with another Project All procedure?

Actually I guess my first question should be: is this even the right workflow? And how can I ensure that the positioning doesn't change when exporting/importing?

Thanks in advance for any and all help!

Replies

• thomasp
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    thomasp hero character
    i think it's general good practice to start a model in max at the scale you require, then go into zbrush to sculpt and detail it. that way, assuming you make sure to transfer your files back and forth using OBJ format and setting scale to 1.0 in the im/exporter dialogs, it won't change later on.

in your case, exporting a low res version of your sculpt into max using this method, aligning the cage mesh to it and exporting that to Z should give a predictable result you can continue to work with.

• musashidan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    musashidan high dynamic range