Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

3rd Person Platformer - Feline Hero Character (WIP)

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
WallStaringCat polycounter lvl 6
Hello all, this is my first post on Polycount so pardon me if I seem a bit noobish. Currently I'm a student at the DAVE school in Orlando and an aspiring character artist. Our final assignment this block was to choose a piece of pre-selected concept art and create a game-ready, hero quality asset from it for Unreal.

And to my pleasant surprise one of the concept pieces was an awesome character piece drawn by @Makkon

I got in contact with Makkon recently and he was generous enough to help me out, even going so far to draw up another, more up to date reference for me!

My current scope is to have this guy fully modeled, textured with PBR materials, and exported into Unreal within 3 weeks. I also hope to bust out the amazing NeoFur plugin to give this guy a really nice fur covering too.

Anyway on to the WIPS!
_____________________________________________________________________________________________

Going off the refs Makkon sent me, I drew up a quick and dirty front and back orthographic. Just trying to match the style as best I can and provide good proportions for when I move to modeling. 

First pass proxy done in both Zbrush and Modo - Made a very quick blockout in zbrush, retopologized the mesh in modo and made some placeholders for the character's accessories. Now to export the base mesh back to Zbrush.

First Sculpting pass - blockout the head, hands, and clothing. Trying to  really create a nice silhouette that matches refference. Based on Makkon's advice I will also add suspenders to him later.