Home General Discussion

Sound Designers - The Unsung Heroes?

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
ftsmith polycounter lvl 6
It's just a thought that came across me when I was watching the Battlefield 1 trailer (which looks dope). The sounds of the vehicles, the guns, the explosions, they all gave me as much chills as the visuals. As a 3D artist I should be focused on the visuals mainly, but the more I thought about it the more the more I had a greater appreciation for good sound design and the more I noticed it. Some of my favorite movies, anime, and video games all had great sound design, but I never noticed it. Just a thought I had so I was wondering what everyone else thought. Agree, Disagree?

Replies

• pigart
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pigart polycounter lvl 6
    I think sound design is like UI design. If it's done well then nobody will even notice it. If it's done badly then everybody will mention how bad it is.
  • Blond
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Blond polycounter lvl 9
    Dice are extremely good at it when it comes to making immersive sound. 

'' If it's done well then nobody will even notice it''

I doubt that. I watched a  Mirros Edge Catalyst video recently and was actually amazed by the intricate, precise and superb quality of the sound. Foot stomping, sliding, hearing Faith breath. everything just feels so good to hear, so vibrant...
  • Kevin Albers
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kevin Albers polycounter lvl 18
    I agree. People tend to focus on visuals more than sound, and when it comes to sound, focus more on music than sound fx/foley. Yet, kickass foley sound is definitely kickass, and can make a big impact.
  • pigart
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pigart polycounter lvl 6
    Blond said: