Home Quixel Megascans

Answered: High poly Workflow?

polycounter lvl 14
Offline / Send Message
NAIMA polycounter lvl 14
Hello , SO I have a really Big spaceship and I wanted to texture with DDO , I installed and Its my first time with it so I am not really expert in the procedures yet . But I wanted to start with that project as I need it .

My spaceship is high poly opensubdivided , in the stack the different pieces have like Editpoly already uvmapped , above the shell , edit poly to delete inner faces and then opensubd, then a simmetry .

Now there are also other pieces that I have not uvmapped at all , like the engines, the several pipes and some details of the cockpit canopy ... I would like to combine both procedural and mapped texturing if possible .

I might or not use vray or mental ray for rendering not decided yet, but in any case, how do you sugest me to proceed in a correct workflow?

httpsembedgyazocom8e440ddd14727df171fb2cfb3da8f62cpng

I have like 8-9 macro pieces of the Hull , wich is the one I wanted to texture the most , divided in black and white materials , those pieces have a space of a square distribution for all the uvmapped elements .

I read I have to use xnormal , but then should I collect all uvpieces into one single squared map or I can work with several ? shoudl I make one by one in xnormal or how else?

How should I setup the max scene to work with high poly workflow for ddo ? I checked the tutorial but I yet did not find it specific on how actually work .

Replies

• Synaesthesia
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Synaesthesia polycounter
    You'll need UVs to work with NDO or DDO, as they're both Photoshop-based applications, and anything you're planning to process through Photoshop will require a UV layout to apply to.