Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Bathroom Environment

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
ImsumDave polycounter lvl 11
Hey all,

this is a small environment project. This is my first attempt at creating anything beyond individual props or simple characters/busts. I am using Substance Designer to author as many of the materials as possible. Comment and critique is welcome.

This is where I am at right now

Replies

• Meloncov
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Meloncov greentooth
    Nothing looks as shiny and reflective as I'd expect in a clean bathroom.
  • Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    What is this rendered in?

Also, PNGs really suck.

• ImsumDave
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    @Meloncov I'm still at a pseudo block-in/modeling phase, so maybe there will be more shiny by the end. Tile materials are not final and I'm continually tweaking them as I go. I'm basing this off a real bathroom, which I have access to. I'm not going for clean or dirty. Just realistic.

@Eric Chadwick Whoops. Accidentally uploaded the png file on the first image. Fixed.

This is rendered in Marmoset Toolbag 2, although I may switch to UE4 once it's further along.
  • Nathan3D
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Nathan3D polycounter lvl 7
    Yea I would expect some more reflectivity in most of your materials everything seems really matte looking.  the modelling and scale looks pretty good so far :) 
    I feel like theres something off about the shower/arch part but can't quite put my finger on it. Are the tiles cut like that in the real bathroom? 
  • Sheers
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Can you share an image of the world with detail lighting only?  I'd like to see how it looks without the materials.