Home General Discussion

What do I do now?

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Haybie polycounter lvl 7
Bit a shot in the the dark. I am a recent graduate, I was lucky to finished and get offered to work in a triple A studio. I felt so overwhelmed and I blew it. I was a small fish in the big sea and the job role didn't use my skills. I gave it my 110 percent and they knew that but just wasnt right for the job. I got let go after 6 months just as my girlfriend was about to move up and was selling her house.

She just managed to get her job and house back. But she is so angry and the trust is gone. Her parents of course hates my guts. She will let move back but I have to get a job, I have a month left of the place I rent or back to my parents house. Question is WHAT THE HELL DO I DO NOW?? 

I no work left to show anymore, all my recent stuff I have done are all NDA clad. I have the occasional practice pieces but no portfolio material. I can apply to places but nothing to show them. I wont be able to make a good portfolio for at least 3 months, or do you think a month is doable? I could get a temp job in a simple store but she is worried I will go back in the ways of being really depressed and down for not following my dream. 
Any words of wisdom will help. I am just in total lost.

Thanks in advance.

Replies

• PyrZern
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PyrZern polycounter lvl 12
    Probably better to get used to the idea that we might have little job security in this industry. Unless you're really good at it. This might also involve moving around to where the job is as well. Your GF probably should know about this fact too. 

Now, can you make 3 art pieces in 3 months ?

Get a temp job you hate(maybe not so much... just don't enjoy it). It will DRIVE you to work harder on your folio. Drive > Depression

Also, what do you do, anyhow ?
  • garcellano
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    garcellano greentooth