Home Technical Talk

Myths of modelling

polygon
Offline / Send Message
yukonwanderer polygon
I'm a newbie, and have been confused on a couple points I've read on here lately.

1. Meshes do not have to be all quads. Wat?

2. Tri count doesn't matter anymore with next-generation gen, it's mostly texture size that matters now. This true?

Does anyone else have similar issues they need cleared up? Would love to have an up to date list.

Replies

• Pedro Amorim
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    1, true. you can use whatever you want. tris, ngons, quads. use them wisely.
    2, like anything in life. moderation is key. Use the budget wisely. Just because you can doesn't mean you should. Use common sense.
  • pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter
    1. Meshes do not have to be all quads. Wat?

One way to clarify this point would be for you to list the reasons why you think that they should be. This would make the source of the confusion/misconception easy to identify.

I'd venture to guess that this is caused by hearing something like "non-quads don't divide well",which depends on context, and "non-quads are not good for rigging", which highly depends on context too. People tend to take these two completely unrelated statements ... misunderstand them both ... and then cook up a random absolute rule that doesn't apply to anything :)
  • Biomag
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Biomag sublime tool
  • kanga
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    kanga quad damage