Home General Discussion

Need some guidance on making 3D portfolio

kanser03
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
kanser03 polycounter lvl 2
Hi guys, there is a new game development company that will be starting here in the Philippines (You might already heard of it). They are looking for 3D artists of all levels. They did not post any requirements for work experience and formal education about 3D arts, so I was thinking I might have a chance.

Like I said, I have no work experience or formal education about 3D arts. Everything I know, I learned it from tutorials online. It might be too ambitious for me but it's a once in a life time chance and I really wanted it. I might not land a job as an entry level, but if they will get me as intern and train me to do stuff would be more than enough.

So, any tips on how should I make my portfolio?

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
  • Quack!
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Quack! polycounter lvl 17
    kanser03 said:
    Hi guys, there is a new game development company that will be starting here in the Philippines (You might already heard of it). They are looking for 3D artists of all levels. They did not post any requirements for work experience and formal education about 3D arts, so I was thinking I might have a chance.

Like I said, I have no work experience or formal education about 3D arts. Everything I know, I learned it from tutorials online. It might be too ambitious for me but it's a once in a life time chance and I really wanted it. I might not land a job as an entry level, but if they will get me as intern and train me to do stuff would be more than enough.

Use www.artstation.com.
    Only put your 3-5 best works on there.
    If that doesn't land you the job, apply elsewhere and make a new, better portfolio piece and replace your worst one.
    For what it's worth, I am self taught with no game dev schooling. Formal training is only important if it focuses you, your personal drive trumps all.