Home General Discussion

Paying the Bills... How to Get a Job?

nightelf125
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
nightelf125 polycounter lvl 6
Hey guys! Just curious, what does everyone here do to pay the bills while they work towards their game art? Do you have another job that keeps you stable? Are you in an unhappy day job situation? If so, any advice for me would be great as I'm trying to get some kind of other job. Hopefully one that has some growth room in terms of salary yet lets me work on game art as much as possible. I thought about maybe getting some certifications in IT or something since I'm not a fan of coding. I have a game design degree, so I'm in a tricky spot where it's hard to get an entry level job in any other industry that actually pays...again would love any advice, thanks guys!

Replies

• Ruz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ruz polycount lvl 666
    I had a crappy part time job at TK Maxx for about a year before I first got a job. hated it but it paid the bills
  • Joebewon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joebewon polycounter lvl 12
    I think first and foremost you should check 
    http://www.gamedevmap.com/ 
    to see what studios are around you and if there are studios near you, check your work and see if that's a place you'd wanna work for.  

If you don't feel qualified or feel suited for some of those studios, depending on your 3D or graphic art skills start to look around at design studios near you.  Having skills using 3D software or the Adobe products can carry over into other job settings.  I'm currently doing automotive work while I work on game art stuff on the side, because bills need to be paid.  

Good luck!

• Zack Maxwell
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Zack Maxwell interpolator
    I'm working a day job to pay the bills until my game development becomes more profitable. I think that's common.