Home General Discussion

Stand Out Student - Last uni year project?

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Prawlette polycounter lvl 3
Hi all!

I'd like some advice and thoughts on my idea for my final year project at uni, we have roughly 7 months. I'm studying games design and would like to focus concept art, character art 2D and 3D, and maybe special effects.

I currently have 4 brief ideas;
  1. Zbrush sculpture of character resting on base/environment (ie. http://imgur.com/a/gGEU2)
  2. Low poly character and environment hand painted (ie. http://imgur.com/a/c2epY}
  3. Create a character (LoL champion/overwatch hero) from concept to in-game ready 3D model (ie. http://imgur.com/a/6Hr3t)
  4. Remastering a character (ie. http://polycount.com/discussion/141885/riot-art-contest-caitlyn#latest)
As you can probably already notice that stylized is preferred.

Currently looking at doing no. 4 -
I've been doing research into Overwatch and League etc. on what kind of characters each game has and finding concept pieces. Am I being too ambitious creating a whole new character, story to in-game abilities?

Trying to understand the process of the whole thing: Character story/abilities, character concept, high sculpt, retopologize, texture, rig, animate, vfx (please correct if wrong!)

Any thoughts or advice?

Replies

• MalloryW
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MalloryW polycounter lvl 14
    What does your current work look like?
  • Magihat
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Magihat ngon master
    You say you want to focus and then lists 4 different things. That is not focus and if you try to do too many things chances are you will not excel at any one of them and stand out for different reasons than what you are going for.