Home Technical Talk

[HELP!] My normal maps are baking all wrong !

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
SimãoSilva polycounter lvl 8
Hello im new to baking, and uvw unwrapping, today i dicded to finally do thi but i kinda messed up i guess, i think the problem is in the awfull job i did at unwarpping but i dont know so i wanted to ask you guys for your opinion.
i used 3ds max for modeling and unwrapping and xnormal for baking, here are the models, uv and the result of the baking! please help me ! thank you !

Replies

• Shyralon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Shyralon polycounter lvl 11
    These artifacts come from your shading groups on the lowpoly. See all those hard edges? They will transfer right into your normal map. Set up smoothing groups/soften them (since I don't use max I can't tell you what exactly it's named) and you should get rid of those.
    I am pretty sure that your UVs should not be the problem, as long as you don't have any overlapping.
    Other than that you might want to check your baking cage. In case you need to edit it, you can either build a cage manually or use xnormals 3d viewer for that which does an okayish-job most of the time.
  • SimãoSilva
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
  • SimãoSilva
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    thank you Shyralon ! and i had created a cage with max's projection modifier but i think xnormals didn't use it! im only starting now on this ive only studied 3d for like half a year and its always on my spare time since i study audiovisuals, it started off as me wanting to do vfx and cgi but im in love with modeling and texturing !3thank you very much ^^ 

• ExcessiveZero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ExcessiveZero polycounter lvl 6