Home Technical Talk

3D scan for materials and scenes

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Hi guys,
I am not a designer, I am not related to computer games, so I am asking for your help.

I would like to start new sphere of work - 3d scanning for materials, scenes and assets. 
I know some games have already done this.

I can make as stones, gravel and structures, so I can make real building....I can make some half-destroyed buildings...
I know I need to make re-topology and PBR maps, but I already know some ppl, who can help me with it. 
I am asking: 
1. what is the average price you are ready to pay for such material/model?
2. are you going to buy such?
3. where is the best place to sell this models? 

Here are some examples I did several moth ago. It was not intended to make such models and materials. It was just for myself. The models should have a better quality, even lighting etc. This is just to show what type of product I am going to make, but not the quality.

model

model

Replies

• musashidan
    Offline / Send Message
    musashidan high dynamic range
    It really is going to depend on the quality. A good benchmark might be to look at somewhere like surfacemimics's quality/pricing for the texture scans (or if you intend to create full sets of metal/rough maps all the better) photos canned textures are becoming the norm so there's a lot of competition. Megascans from Quixel on the way(or so they have been saying for what seems like years) And lately, Allegorithmic are getting in on the act.

Assets-wise you could look at somewhere like the Unreal marketplace to see what sort of quality/pricing you'll be competing against. I don't think there are many (or any) vendors offering photoscanned assets, rather they are built from scratch, so you might have a niche there.

And check out the Epic Games presentation  on the photo-assets they created for the kite world demo. 
  • the_fly
    Thank you very much. Your answer is really appreciated. 
  • musashidan