Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

45 Days of Zbrush

vertex
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
thechocokirby vertex
Hi all,
I'm new to the polycount community and (sort of) new to Zbrush. I studied computer animation and have always loved modeling. I'd been longing for a LONG time to get and get good with ZBrush, but always put off even getting the trial because I didn't want to waste the limited time I would have.
Having recently found myself out of work I figured it's as good a time as any to finally get comfortable with it. I'll be posting as close to everyday as I can manage (no promises though). I'll also be posting to Tumblr and Twitter.
I would greatly welcome any critique, but mostly I just want to have a place where I can be held accountable and compile all the work to look back on later.

Replies

• thechocokirby
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    thechocokirby vertex

Here's the project for April 23. Following an excellent tutorial on vimeo by Isaac Oster. Starting this one over because I let it get too high poly (and used dynamesh) before really getting the shapes properly set up.
  • thechocokirby
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    thechocokirby vertex

Here's another shot at this exercise. I didn't get much farther though, before feeling stuck again. I'm used to sculpting on Maya, and when I start to feel like I'm fighting against the polygon flow I'm not really sure how to move forward. I did use dynamesh, so maybe that was the mistake that lead me to getting stuck... but I used it because I was already feeling stuck and like I was fighting the edge flow. So I'm not sure. If you have any tips on general workflow, that would be quite helpful! I know a good way to approach is to get as much detail in as possible before adding more division levels, but that still seems to sometimes leave me fighting the mesh.
    Thanks!
  • Steve Schulze
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Steve Schulze polycounter lvl 18