Home Technical Talk

Film/cinematic modeling

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
nikola3d polycounter lvl 4
Hello guys! I'm relatively new self-taught 3D artist. I would like some advices about film/cinematic modeling from you coz I want to learn, practice and build my portfolio in that area. I use ZBrush, Maya as main softwares, and now I'm looking forward to use Mari as a texturing tool. 
My inspiration is Blizzard's World of Warcraft cinematics, also something like Warcraft movie. Which doesn't necessary means that I want to work in future for Blizzard :)
So my questions are simple...
1. How are cinematic/film models different from game models beside poly count and different mapping?
2. What should be max poly count for cinematic/film character/creature with all assets? And what maps are usually used?
3. Should I focus on learning and rendering my models professionaly using something like Vray or Arnold?
4. How small assets like chain, lace, etc. should be retopologized to not get high polycount?
5. Is there any decent online tutorial which can help me from start to finish making of cinematic/film character model?
6. Is Zbrush's fibermesh valuable for hair and fur?
7. How my portfolio should look like?
8. Is polypaint valuable? If it is, for what?

I guess that most of realistic modeling comes from great topology. I like to start my project from dynamesh or zsphere, but should I retopo my mesh after whole model is finished or after I make an mesh and before detailing same, and then lower subdivision from that and bake maps?
That's all I can think for now, and I know it's a lot of questions, so any reply, tips and tricks, would be helpful. 

Replies

• samnwck
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    samnwck polycounter lvl 9
    Well, I've never worked in the VFX/cinematics. However as I understand it