Home Technical Talk

Need advice on texturing for older games

Audley
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Audley polycounter lvl 6
Hello Polycount forums! 

Hi, my name is Audley and I am a texture artist. Kinda. Not an expert by any means but I think I am good enough now to actually call myself a texture artist. I really would like to show you guys some of my work but nearly my entire portfolio got deleted when I took a break from graphic design to deal with life stuff. I am new to the forums and am currently re-building my portfolio; once I have some cool stuff to share I will definitely share it. 

Anyways, I am a texture artist and a modder for Bethesda games. While I have been branching out quite a bit, it's where I started so I still like to work on modding because I find it a lot of fun. However, I have ran into a bit of an issue. I would like to make better and more advanced retextures for pre-existing meshes and I just don't know how to go about doing that. My current technique is to basically just open the pre-made Diffuse map in Photoshop and guess what each object is and then manipulate photos and paste them over the existing UV maps. 

This works alright for large hard-surface objects. But anything with complex UV's or anything that is organic is nearly impossible to texture in Photoshop alone. I am pretty good in Photoshop but that is really the only tool I am competent in. I'd like to do some weapon and clothing retextures but at my current skill level that isn't really achievable. 

I know that modern games with PBR use different texturing techniques. But for older games that don't really use PBR at all I am unsure what the method is. I see people creating these amazing and beautiful retextures for Skyrim and it makes my jaw drop. I try to do similar things but there is only so much you can do with a photo. 

Any and all help is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Replies

• Shogun3d
    Offline / Send Message