Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Looking for critique on my portfolio

Hey everyone, I'm a 3D generalist from Canada and I'm in my final semester of college.   I'm looking for some critique on my portfolio site so I can best prepare it for internship/job hunting and I want to know how I should be be moving forward from where I'm currently at, like what the most noticeable flaws are in my work and what I should focus on improving.  

I'm also interested in any suggestions for what kind of things I should be making next.   I know that I'm lacking grungy stuff and plant life in my scenes but feel free to suggest any concept for me to work on, I'm not entirely sure on what I should do next and I'd be up for trying any cool concepts you post here.

Link to the site: http://www.louisparai.com

Replies

• djgardner
    Hey. 
    I'm not working in the industry yet, so take my comments as they are.

Are the environments rendered in an engine or is this all VRay/Mental Ray? If it isn't an engine like Unreal then you may have a tough time landing a job as an enviro artist with no engine experience. 
    The props within the environments have really high spec values and there's no material definition. Did you unwrap and texture these? Most look like materials from Max.  

For the vehicles, are those game ready assets? The poly count looks extremely high.  How come there are no wireframes or texture maps either? 

I wouldn't have a demo reel just because your work is always changing, and with that you'd have to make a new reel everytime you remove portfolio pieces. If you're an animator demo reels are great. 

Overall I'd say for a portfolio of basically your school work you're ok for now, but I personally would always be adding to it even when in school. You wont land that first job with it just yet (Maybe an internship), but it's a start.