Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

HotelLobby (UE4)

This hotel lobby that hit by an earthquake and flooded with water.
The scene is put together in Unreal Engine 4 and this is the first project in which I use Substance Painter. Furthermore the tree that you see on the image comes from SpeedTree.

With this project I wanted to learn about Unreal Engine 4 and Substance Painter.

Let me know what you think. Comments are more than welcome.

Replies

• snakos
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    snakos polycounter lvl 8
    Hey that's pretty cool, especially if you're still learning! :)

I think some of your elements are a bit hard to read. For example the lamp in the middle left of the of the picture seems flying and it takes me time to define what it was.
    What is the grey/blueish things on the foreground?
    The pillar on the right looks like it is not textured yet.
    Take time to think and work on your materials, and composition. I am not a pro myself in texturing so i can't tell you how to fix it, sorry. :(

I don't know if they're good and if they fit to what you want make but this is some ideas:
    You're water should have left some dirt on the bottom of walls and stairs. It can quickly be done by adding decals
    The tree broke the wall, it could be great to add some branches and leaves everywhere.
    But it is a good start! The lighting on the top of the stairs is nice, like a warm light contrasting with the mess, maybe accentuate the contrast by blue tones on the left?

• Huib
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hey Snakos,

Thank you for your comment. I was not sure if some things would be clear or not on the image. And looks like they are not, so thank you for pointing that out  :)
    Furthermore, I will write down your ideas and see which ones I can implement in an updated version.

Thank you.
    Kind regards,
    Huib
  • Madwish
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Madwish polycounter lvl 6
    Hi HUIB,