Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

My portfolio is a mess and I refuse to go back to college (Portfolio Critique)

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
lilJohn polycounter lvl 5
Hi all! I'm a freelance artist based out of Fayetteville Arkansas. I work on a lot of jobs that I either can't show or are not worth showing such as soap bottles, baby alarms, I even made litter box one time. The point is I want to be a bad ass game artist. But have no direction when it comes to what companies look for on portfolios. I can spend all of my free time every day making "things" but in the end when they're all laid out it's still a weak presentation. Anyways, no strings attached, I have no feelings for anything I've made so far. I expect bluntness, even if your comment is derogatory it's still helpful. I plan on moving my new portfolio to Sketchfab and scrapping my Carbonmade sub.

https://goswick.carbonmade.com/

Cheers

Replies

• CGXel
    Offline / Send Message
    CGXel polycounter lvl 3
    Hey, go easy on yourself, you have an amazing portfolio.

First things first, don't show your weak pieces, I don't wanna point fingers but if I had to name one would be the cupcake (lol), I highly suggest you to use the final render as the thumbnail on each work on your portfolio, because the first impression its the strongest, there are a couple of pieces that have a nice render but their thumbnail its an un-textured picture, and that won't make people click on it, also you should learn and practice PBR Texturing, the quality you can get its mind blown.

Too long didn't read version:

1.- Remove weak pieces
    2.- Update thumbnails and be organized overall, the portfolio its a boring mess in its current state
    3.- Learn PBR Texturing
  • GOBEE
    Offline / Send Message
    GOBEE polycounter lvl 10