Home General Discussion

DAOC character pipeline (3ds Max 8!!!)

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
MagicSugar polycounter lvl 10
Classic game but process talk might still be of interest to students or absolute beginners. Twitch cast date: January 17, 2016, artist demoing is Greg Grimsby.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FoqzDkqcH3I

Replies

• doc rob
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    doc rob polycounter lvl 19
    Whaaaaa.

Just posting to say that I taught Greg Grimsby this pipeline when he started at Mythic about a million years ago. I made that terrible head model. It's real weird to see this pop up on polycount. . . . 
  • Mstankow
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mstankow polycounter lvl 11
    I don't think students should be using ancient workflows to make art assets.
  • Swizzle
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Swizzle polycounter lvl 15
    Mstankow said:
    That seems like a very sweeping statement. If, for example, a student wanted to make items for Dota 2 workshop items, they'd get much better final results if they understood how to hand paint textures and construct low-poly geometry with good edge flow.

Additionally, most mobile and social games still require skills that were most relevant in the Quake 3 days. Low-poly modeling and UVs, low resolution hand-painted texture creation, rigging with tight restrictions on bone counts, and use of minimal shaders are still very relevant skill sets for people who don't want to work in AAA production. Hell, most indie games still use tech that was already outdated over a decade ago because it's generally faster to produce and easier to art direct.
  • MrHobo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MrHobo polycounter lvl 13
    That really depends though. A lot of older workflows are still perfectly valid depending on what they are being applied to.
  • GarageBay9
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    GarageBay9 polycounter lvl 13
    Mstankow said: