Home Technical Talk

Rigging stretchy limbs in Maya

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
joarwho polycounter lvl 5
Hi!
So, I was planning on creating a rig with stretchy limbs. Problem is, every tutorial I can find online are demonstrating how to create stretchy limbs by scaling joints or using BlendShapes. But I want to stretch the limbs on my character by translating the joints, instead of scaling them.

Do you guys have any tips on how I should approach this? The first thought that popped into my head was to simply parentConstraint the joint to the controller (Maybe this could work on the spine?) and maybe I can translate the base joints with help of driven keys on the IK/FK limbs? 

Any tips or advice would be really helpful. Thanks!

Replies

• m4dcow
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    m4dcow interpolator
    I'm no expert at rigging, but maybe there's a reason people don't do stretchy rigs using translation. Could it be that using scaling allows you to scale the rig up or down, and still have the stretchy limbs work?
  • Boozebeard
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Boozebeard polycounter lvl 11
    I'm not much of a rigger either I'm just curious why you want to translate instead of scale? Like M4DCOW said that sounds like it could cause head-aches.
  • Flynny
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Flynny polycounter lvl 9
    Maybe your after breakable limbs?
    I have this as a feature in my rigs but its a pain to setup.. worth it though!
  • joarwho
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    m4dcow said:
    I'm no expert at rigging, but maybe there's a reason people don't do stretchy rigs using translation. Could it be that using scaling allows you to scale the rig up or down, and still have the stretchy limbs work?
    I'm not much of a rigger either I'm just curious why you want to translate instead of scale? Like M4DCOW said that sounds like it could cause head-aches.