Home Technical Talk

Help a newbie out with high poly assets?

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Pixel_Fire polycounter lvl 4
Hey Everyone,

I am fairly new to 3D stuff. I have been working with modo for 5 months and ZBrush for 3 weeks. I usually make low poly stuff because that's easy to do and I think about optimization a lot while modeling. 

I am tackling my first high poly asset. I am attempting to make a weapon for Fallout 4 (when the GECK is released). Since I have never really attempted a high poly model before, I have NO idea what is a reasonable count for a game like Fallout 4. 

Here are the concepts of the weapon and the mods it will have.

Here is my base weapon in modo. It is pretty low poly. 

Here is my ZBrush file that I would get the normals from.

Here is a file where I was just messing around with the noise maker and trying for better normals.

Now, here come my questions:
1. Since the base model is low poly, would there be a point in increasing the poly count? I would think the normals could handle most of the obvious faceting. 
2. I am trying to put chains on the weapon in modo, but I don't what super obvious edges on the chains dues to keeping the chains low poly. What is a reasonable count for next gen game weapons? I was told on reddit that 20-50k is fine for weapons. That blew my mind because I never worked on anything higher that 2k.
3. When unwrapping the assets, should I unwrap a low poly version of them and then proceed to make them high poly? Or do I just unwrap the high poly?
4. Should the assets be unwrapped before bringing them into ZBrush?

If anyone has any suggestions or things to point out, I would love if you did. I still have a lot to learn. Also, I am new to this site (made an account 1.5 hours ago), so if the format of this post is not accurate or if it's in the wrong section, please let me know.

Thank you :)

Replies

• Bek
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bek interpolator