Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio Critique?

Hi all!

I'm a 3D Artist looking for new employment - which means I want my portfolio looking the best it can.

I really love stylised and low poly work, but I want to express on my site that I am also a capable artist for realistic AAA projects. Essentially, I'm applying for Environment Artist roles across all styles and studio types - I don't mind what, I just love working on games. 

Is this too broad a goal? 
I want to start a new project, but I'm stuck as to what employers will want to see. I can't decide if I should make something totally different to show more diversity, or if I should focus on creating better, more confident pieces to replace the older ones.

Basically I'm stuck and I'd love your honest first impressions and opinions :-) 
Portfolio:  http://chelsealindsay.weebly.com/

Thank you!

Replies

• Chelsea
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Shameless thread bump  :s
  • Bummer6
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bummer6 polycounter lvl 15
    I'm not super experienced myself, so take anything I say with a grain of salt, but to me your portfolio looks pretty damn cool. You're showing that you've worked on a AAA title right at the top of the page, which is good, you seem to have a pretty broad range of skills ranging from cartoony to realistic. I personally HATE contact forms like the one you use, I'd much rather just have an email listed, but that's nitpicking. If anything, I'd probably put the revolver further down since to me it looks like one of your weaker models. I hope this helps a bit. I really love the tree and the taco store!
  • Chelsea
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    @Bummer6  That's a lot of positives there, thank you! :smiley:  Do you mind if I ask what is it in particular about the revolver that you feel is weaker than the other models? (In case I revisit it and improve it?)
    Thank you again! :smile: 
  • Bummer6
    Options
    Offline / Send Message