Home General Discussion

How many hours a day do you spend drawing?

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Will_M polycounter lvl 4
I'm just curious to know and also if you're in school or have a job or just a hobbyist.

Replies

• Blond
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Blond polycounter lvl 9
    NOT FKING ENOUGH! I'm a student.

See the thing is, I know that if a pass a few hours on it everyday, I'll get good; I've witnessed it myself a few months ago where I drastically improved after daily drawing and practices. For no reason, I stopped to concentrate on 3D and I'm too much of a slackboy right now to pick a pencil again.

Uuurgh, to think my ultimate goal was to become a traditionnal animator...I'm still, young,better stop slacking -_-
    pls halp
  • AtticusMars
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AtticusMars greentooth
    Between zero and one. Usually zero.

Hobbyist. Hoping to increase that to "usually one" this year....
  • BagelHero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BagelHero interpolator
    Anywhere between 4 hours and 14. I only pull such ridiculous stints as the latter regularly if I'm getting carried away with a personal project though, rather than any real work or just study/commission. I'd say my absolute minimum daily right now is 4, with 3 hours on commission/freelance, 1-2 hours on personal work/study, then using other hours for misc tasks, chores and slacking off by playing with 3D soft or my DAW. Maximum is more like 8-9. I burn out pretty quick if I run myself into the ground, so I'm trying to cool it off a bit recently... Keep it to work hours, 9-5ish (more like 7~7 but I take breaks often enough that it's really not ever 12 hours straight drawing, I think I'd die if I did that every day).

I'm taking weekends off for casual study, personal work and 3D work only, too, so I usually only get an hour or two in on weekends.