Home Technical Talk

ROOKIE in need of advice on EDGE LOOPS....can you help?

Hello people of poly count,

I am a total noob to this so I do apologize if this question is stupid. I am trying to insert a edge loop into a peice of geometry using the multi cut tool in Maya 2016.

The pictures will help explain better. The tool creates the edge line but misses a peice. When I try to insert the missing part of the edge loop and connect it up, it won't allow me to make it. Why is this and how can it be corrected?

Thanks

Replies

• Bartalon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bartalon polycounter lvl 12
    This could be due to a few things.  The most common problems would be that polygon is an ngon, has unwelded edges or contains stacked polygons from an old extrusion.
    • Ngons:  use Mesh > Cleanup to find ngons or just switch to vertex mode and make sure there are no more than 4 points touching that polygon
    • Unwelded edges: switch to Object mode, then use Display > Polygons > Border Edges.  Unwelded edges will appear bold
    • Stacked faces: use Mesh > Cleanup or try selecting all the verts in the affected area and using Merge Vertex on them all with a low tolerance (.01 or .001)

• Zain_Maleek
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bartalon said:
    This could be due to a few things.  The most common problems would be that polygon is an ngon, has unwelded edges or contains stacked polygons from an old extrusion.
    • Ngons:  use Mesh > Cleanup to find ngons or just switch to vertex mode and make sure there are no more than 4 points touching that polygon
    • Unwelded edges: switch to Object mode, then use Display > Polygons > Border Edges.  Unwelded edges will appear bold
    • Stacked faces: use Mesh > Cleanup or try selecting all the verts in the affected area and using Merge Vertex on them all with a low tolerance (.01 or .001)

Thanks for the advice. I did the "stacked faces" you mentioned and that solved it! Thank you!
  • Zain_Maleek