Home Animation Showcase & Critiques

Showreel 2015 am I junior level yet? Or am I in trouble?

Wysk
null
Offline / Send Message
Wysk null
Hello everyone,

It's my first time posting here. I'm currently doing a animation program and I'm out in 6 months. I want to get a job in the videogame industry but I don't know if I have enough skill to work in AAA space as a junior? Also any critique about what I should take out of this reel or anything I should add is very welcome. 

https://vimeo.com/145485610

Replies

• heboltz3
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    heboltz3 polycounter lvl 9
    Heyo!

The rendering in this reel is "mostly" very nice.  Lighting and presentation on the first 2 shots are really great, and kind of set the stage for your reel, but then theres a lot of differences after that.  My first crit would be to find a uniform rendering style, only because its distracting when some of the work isn't up to the presentation spec of the other bits.  Things that pop out for me would be the boy with hat, the biped work, and maybe the cat?

I like that you showed your assets in engine, but it took me a while (like the second cycle) to understand why this game animation was in your reel, only because the game was centered around the player character and not the enemy animations you worked on.  I think finding a better way to illustrate that right off the bat would help alot.  Maybe a side by side comparison of the in game vs the max file? This would also cut some of the fluff out of the reel as well,  Repetitive Duplicates  etc.

Digging into the animation specifically, the first two shots are great and I could go into crits about them, but I think as far as seeking an animation opportunity in the AAA space, You are going to want to have more shots like that.  The biped animations are great in this regard too, but as I said they would probably just want to presented a bit differently.