Home General Discussion

Learning 3ds Max after Blender

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
ant1fact polycounter lvl 9
Hello good people,

I've been using Blender for 3+ years now but I recently started studying games design and we have to use 3ds Max at school. I don't want to go into how much I hate 3ds Max right now and I know that I need the skills for it in my arsenal simply because it's one of the standards out there.

What I'm curious about is if there's someone else who also moved to 3ds Max after Blender and if they've found any useful scripts or workflows that made them feel more at home.

I'm mostly interested in stuff that makes vertex/edge modeling easier; maybe also placing around pivots in edit poly mode on the fly. Thanks and I hope my query is not too vague.

Replies

• Mant1k0re
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mant1k0re polycounter lvl 8
    Hi man,

Max will grow on you :) ex-Blender user here too and although it's still in my library and I still use it sometimes I really like Max better one year or so after the switch, but yes, it took a lot of customization to get there.

For the pivot, I use Miauu's pivot placer. There are other version in his script packs, don't remember if it's pack 1 or 2 but regardless, all the stuff he does is awesome, I recommend you check it, it really speeds up your workflow a lot.
  • ant1fact
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks man, that pivot placer looks promising! I'll have a look at Miauu's other stuff as well
  • MmAaXx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MmAaXx polycounter lvl 10
    Hi, I totally disagree with @Mant1k0re  eheh, I don't really know what is your field and your experience on Blender, but I left 3DSmax after years because I felt really slow compared to Blender.

go back in topic: