Home Technical Talk

Normal Map Issues

I've spent days trying to resolve these problems so i figure if anywhere has any semblance of a solution, it's polycount.

I'm a student artist using Second Life as a platform since it's easy to collaborate on.

Anyway, the problem: (picture speaks a thousand words)

(uploaded image is a JPG for forum friendliness, i realize this isn't a good format, original is a 24-bit TGA)
As you can see the normal map has a sort of lumpy/bumpy consistency when applied to the model. I've done a lot of research into this and discovered it's not an altogether unusual problem when it comes to tangent space normal maps.

(same thing in 3ds max)

(same thing in marmoset)
note: i'm aware of the various other errors in the map, the model/uv has been hacked up so many times trying to make this work i'm not concerned about those just now.

Now, the issue doesn't seem to exist in any software i've tried it in (i also tried it in blender and the unreal engine), in all of these packages the normals produce this seemingly completely smooth/flat surfaces which is expected

Some research tells me this problem is caused by something called Tangent Basis (though i might be wrong), in which each software has a slightly different approach to reading normal maps.

I tried numerous methods of creating the normal maps after discovering this as listed:
(all of the following methods were tested with both Averaged Surface Normals and Exported Surface Normals)
- Baked from 3ds Max
- Baked from Blender
- Baked from Xnormal with both MikkSpace and Unity Space as the calculators
- Baked from Normal as an ObjectSpace in both MikkSpace and Unity Space mode, then Handplaned into every  possible configuration Handplane offers.
- Baked from 3ds Max as an ObjectSpace then handplaned into every possible configuration Handplane offers.